Chairperson Report, June 2008

Hong Kong Journalists Association held its annual general meeting (AGM) on June 28 and announced the result of the election of the Executive Committee for the year of 2008-2009.  Eight members were elected, of whom seven have served in the last term. I would like to congratulate the new committee members and hope that you would continue to strive for the interests of the industry.

Since there was no nomination to stand for Chairperson and Vice-chairperson, members in the AGM passed a proposition that the newly elected Executive Committee would elect among its members a chairperson or an acting chairperson. For details of the proposition please refer to the e-mail that has been sent to members earlier.

In addition, members also passed the proposed amendments of HKJA Constitution and of the Election Guidelines, so that the relevant content will keep abreast of time.

Last year, three candidates to run the election for the Executive Committee of 2007-2008 were disqualified. Two members agreed to appeal their cases to AGM for discussion. A resolution was passed in AGM that the decision of the Executive Committee of 2006-2007 to disqualify the two members was ineffective.

I would like to make an announcement of new appointment in JA office. Miss Mak Yin Ting resigned as General Secretary in May and the post has been filled by Miss Au Shuk Ling. Miss Au has much experience working in NGOs and in the media. I believe she is fully competent in her work.

Over the past year, I am very honoured and fulfilled to be able to serve our union and I gained much knowledge and experience. I would like to express my gratitude to all of you for your trust and support and please forgive any inadequacy. The union needs your continuous support to grow strong and be united.

Fan Ho Tsai

Chairperson Report, October 2008
Chairperson Report, May 2008